Driving a vehicle with excessive smoke in Texas is a violation of the state’s Smoking Vehicle Statute. This statute defines a smoking vehicle as one which either emits smoke for 10 or more consecutive seconds, and/or whose suspended smoke does not fully dissipate within 10 seconds. Texas law enforcement agencies may issue citations, punishable by fines up to $1,000, to drivers operating a smoking vehicle on any roadway. The Regional Smoking Vehicle Program (RSVP) was created to allow anyone to anonymously report suspected smoking vehicles by simply calling #SMOKE.
How does the Regional Smoking Vehicle Program work?
The North Central Texas Council of Governments (NCTCOG) will send a letter to the vehicle’s registered owner informing them that the it may be creating excessive smoke and emitting pollutants, which are harmful to our health and the environment. The letter includes brochures explaining both the RSVP and AirCheckTexas Drive a Clean Machine programs.
Air Check Texas
Parts of North Central Texas are designated an ozone non-attainment areas, which means that ozone levels are above EPA standards. Owners of vehicles that are registered in these areas may qualify for $600 in financial assistance toward emissions-related repairs. If your vehicle is over 10 years old, you may receive up to $3,000 toward the purchase of a new vehicle.
You can call 1-800-898-9103 for more information on how to qualify for financial assistance from Air Check Texas .
We encourage you to report smoking vehicles through RSVP by dialing #SMOKE.