Holding Steady at #7 in ENERGY STAR Buildings

2016 ENERGY STAR Buildings

We did it again!

For the third year in a row, the City of Dallas placed seventh on the Environmental Protection Agency’s (EPA) annual list of U.S. metropolitan areas with the most certified ENERGY STAR buildings.

In 2015, Dallas 249 buildings received the ENERGY STAR, saving an average of $46 million and cutting emissions equal to 43,000 homes’ annual electric use.

What is so great about ENERGY STAR Buildings?

According to the EPA, ENERGY STAR certified buildings and plants cost less to operate and help protect the environment.  On average, these buildings use 35 percent less energy and cause 35 percent fewer greenhouse gas emissions than comparable buildings across the country.  Academic studies also show that ENERGY STAR certified buildings are more valuable — commanding higher rents and sale prices, among other benefits.

To earn ENERGY STAR certification, a facility must operate among the top 25 percent of similar facilities nationwide, with no sacrifices in comfort or quality. Starting with the first ENERGY STAR certified building in 1999, tens of thousands of buildings and plants across America have already earned EPA’s ENERGY STAR for superior energy performance.

Dallas Past Accomplishments

Dallas has been holding steady in seventh place since 2013, up from eighth place in 2012.  Since the rankings began in 2008, Dallas has never left the top ten cities.

Dallas had 214 buildings receive ENERGY STAR certification in 2014, which resulted in a savings of $47.3 million and cut emissions equal to 48,400 homes’ annual electric use.

In 2013, 229 buildings received ENERGY STAR certification in Dallas, which cut greenhouse gas emissions equivalent to 64,249 passenger vehicles and saved almost $44 million in annual utility bills.  By the end of 2013, more than 23,000 Energy Star certified buildings across America saved nearly $3.1 billion in annual utility bills and prevented greenhouse gas emissions equal to the annual energy use of more than 2.2 million homes.

How EPA ranks the cities

They define cities based on the US Census’ “core based statistical areas,” commonly known as metropolitan areas. Then, EPA tallies the total number of buildings that earns the ENERGY STAR in each metro area and ranks the cities accordingly.


Comments are closed.